Our Shoebox Community Under Quarantine

Our Shoebox Community Under Quarantine

We would like to celebrate our community by sharing their activities while in quarantine. Some have been in the studio working, while others have been gardening or learning a new skill. No matter what, they have found a creative outlet for distraction, self care or just because they have to continue working. We hope you are able to continue doing what makes you happy during these weeks of self-isolation. Be kind to yourselves and stay healthy.





Eric Sanders https://www.studiosanders.com/

Pam Douglas http://pamdouglasart.com/


Betzi Stein https://www.betzistein.com/

Stevie Love https://stevielove.com/
I’m writing a book about how we built our adobe house twelve years ago. The book will be published jointly by Griffith Moon and MOAH in 2021. I am spending hours and days describing the process of getting the land, drilling for water, making the adobe blocks, and building the house. One of my favorite elements of the completed house are these tiles on the kitchen walls. They are geometric but with an undulating quality that make them a perfect fit with the handmade adobe house.


Lauren Mendelsohn-Bass http://www.mendelsohnbassfineart.com/

Karen Hochman Brown https://www.hochmanbrown.com/
I am making masks for the Altadena Mask Project. Also doing a lot of gardening.

Sheli Silverio http://www.shelisilverio.com/

Kristine Schomaker https://www.kristineschomaker.net/

S. Vollie Osborn https://www.instagram.com/s.vollie/

Susan T. Kurland http://www.susantkurland.com/

Emily Wiseman https://www.emilywiseman.com/

Author

Kristine Schomaker is a new media and performance artist, painter and art historian living and working at the Brewery artist complex in Los Angeles. For over 14 years she has been working with various interdisciplinary art forms including online virtual worlds to explore identity and the hybridization of digital media with the physical world. Whether virtual or physical, the object-based work Kristine creates combines elements of color-based gestural abstraction, animation, pattern and design, neo-Baroque and Populence. Using installation, text, photography, mixed media, video and performance for her ongoing conceptual project My Life as an Avatar, she visualizes a narrative/dialogue with her virtual persona, Gracie Kendal. Kristine then documents her experiences on her blog. In 2012, exploring ideas of community, Kristine turned a local gallery into a modern day creation of Gertrude Stein’s salon of the 1920’s with a live mixed-reality dinner party merging the physical world with the online virtual world. Over the summer she also performed The Bald and the Beautiful in which she had her head shaved as a statement to challenge society’s standards of beauty. Currently, Kristine is working as an Artist-in-Residence through the Linden Endowment for the Arts creating an immersive virtual environment which she is planning to bring into the physical world via sculpture/public art work.

Donate

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other subscribers

Artist Registry

Recent Posts

Instagram